Senior Management Team (SMT)

SMT is a consultative group comprising of senior University leaders. It provides the Vice-Chancellor with a forum for discussion and advice on key University-wide issues including strategy, policy, performance and future direction.

Meeting frequency

The SMT meets at least three times per year.


Substitutes will not be permitted.


The following are members of the group:

Professor Margaret Gardner AC President and Vice-Chancellor
Professor Marc Parlange Provost and Senior Vice-President
Mr Peter Marshall Chief Operations Officer and Senior Vice-President
Mr Phil HarveyInterim Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice-President
Professor Abid Khan Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Global
Professor Susan Elliott AM Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Senior Vice-President (Education)
Professor Ken Sloan Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Senior Vice-President (Enterprise and Governance)
Professor Robert Brooks President, Academic Board
Professor Rebekah Brown Senior Vice-Provost and Vice-Provost (Research)
Ms Renaye Peters Vice-President (Campus Infrastructure and Services)
Mr Damien Farrell Vice-President (Advancement)
Ms Sunny Yang Associate Vice-President, Student Recruitment and Admissions
Professor Shane Murray Dean, Faculty of Art, Design & Architecture
Professor Sharon Pickering Dean, Faculty of Arts
Professor Simon Wilkie Dean, Faculty of Business and Economics
Professor Viv Ellis Dean, Faculty of Education
Professor Elizabeth Croft Dean, Faculty of Engineering
Professor Bryan Horrigan Dean, Faculty of Law
Professor Christina Mitchell AO Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
Professor John Carroll Dean, Sub-Faculty of Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
Professor Stephen Jane Foundation Dean, Sub-Faculty of Translational Medicine and Public Health,  Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
Professor Arthur Christopoulos Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Professor Jordan Nash Dean, Faculty of Science
Professor Ann NicholsonInterim Dean, Faculty of Information Technology
Professor Andrew MacIntyre Senior Pro Vice-Chancellor (Southeast Asia Partnerships)
Professor Andrew Walker PVC and President (Monash University Malaysia)
Professor Aibing Yu PVC and President (Suzhou)
Ms Sarah Newton PVC (Enterprise)
Professor Xinhua Wu PVC (Precinct Partnerships)
Professor David Copolov AO PVC (Major Campuses and Student Engagement)
Professor Kris Ryan Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic)
Professor Jacinta Elston Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous)
Professor Matthew Gillespie Vice-Provost (Faculty and Graduate Affairs)
Mr Bob Gerrity University Librarian
Ms Jo Mithen CEO, Monash College
Ms Teresa Finlayson Chief Information Officer
Mr Fabian Marrone Chief Marketing Officer
Ms Bridgid Connors Chief Human Resources Officer
Mr George Ou Executive Director, Financial Resources Management
Mr Bradley Williamson Executive Director, Buildings and Property
Mr Vladimir Prpich Executive Director, Campus Community
Ms Julianne Wantrup Principal Legal Adviser (Chancellery)
Ms Susan Anderson General Counsel
Mr Marcus Ward Chief Philanthropy Officer, External Relations, Development and Alumni
Mr Trent Gillam Chief of Staff, Office of the Provost and Senior Vice-President
Dr Gregory Cusack Chief Coursework Officer, Monash University and Chief of Staff, Portfolio of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)
Ms Emily Spencer Chief of Staff and Executive Director, Office of the President and Vice-Chancellor
Ms Moh-Lee Ng Director, Risk and Compliance

Contact Information

Professor Margaret Gardner AC
Phone: (03) 9902 9851

Ms Kerrie Edwards
Phone: (03) 9902 9851