About us

Group Leader

Doug

Professor Doug MacFarlane

Douglas.MacFarlane@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 4540
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 328

Research interests

  • Fuel generation through solar energy conversion including hydrogen and ammonia
  • Electrochemical applications, including metal-air batteries and thermocells
  • Thermal energy storage
  • Novel ionic liquids and ionic materials

Collaborators

Sasha 

Dr Alexandr (Sasha) Simonov

alexandr.simonov@monash.edu
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 329

https://spicciagroup.net/people.php

Research interests

  • Sustainable Energy Fuels
  • Electrochemistry
  • Water splitting and ammonia synthesis
  • Solar cells
  

Research Fellows

Jacinta

Dr Jacinta M. Bakker

jacinta.bakker@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 1397
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 330

Research interests

  • Ammonia synthesis
  • Gas separation
  • Ionic liquids
Pavel 

Dr Pavel Cherepanov

pavel.cherepanov@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9902 4619
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 331

Research interests

  • Understanding the mechanisms of the electrocatalytic reduction of dinitrogen to ammonia
Jay

Dr Jay Choi

jay.choi@monash.edu
(+61 4) 04538978
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 330

Research Interests

  • Electrocatalysis
Fede 

Dr Federico M. Ferrero Vallana

Federico.Vallana@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Nitrogen fixation reactions
  • Electrocatalytic reduction of nitrogen to ammonia,
  • Ionic liquid synthesis and solvation properties.
Mega 

Dr Mega Kar

Mega.Kar@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332A

Research interests

  • Ionic liquids
  • Energy storage
  • Batteries
Karolina 

Dr Karolina Matuszek

karolina.matuszek@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Phase change materials
  • Thermal energy storage
  • Ionic liquids
Binayak 

Dr Binayak Roy

binayak.roy@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Electrochemistry
  • Ionic liquids
  • Energy storage
Ira 

Dr Irina (Ira) Simonova

irina.simonova@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Ammonium synthesis
Bryan

Dr Bryan H. R. Suryanto

bryan.suryanto@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9902 4619
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 331

Research interests

  • Nanoparticle synthesis
  • Electrochemistry
  • Energy conversion

Research Support

Peter

Dr Peter Newman

Peter.Newman@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Design & construction of laboratory equipment for team ammonia & team water splitting

PhD students

Thomas

Thomas Blesch

thomas.blesch@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Redox flow batteries
  • Battery electrolytes
  • Redox-active metal-organic complexes
Sam C

Sam Cohen

sam.cohen2@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Nanomaterials
  • Renewable energy
  • Polymer chemistry
Shuo

Shuo Dong

shuo.dong@monash.edu
(+61 4) 31288350
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • Redox flow batteries
  • Electrochemistry
Dale

Dale Duncan

dale.duncan@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 1449
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Sodium-ion batteries
  • Electrolytes
  • Ionic liquids
Sam J

Sam Johnston

sam.johnston@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 1449
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • Ammonia oxidation reaction
  • Electrochemistry
Melinda

Melinda Krebz

melinda.krebz@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 1449
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 333

Research interests

  • Electrochemical ammonia synthesis
Cuong

Cuong K. Nguyen

cuong.nguyen@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Photocatalysis
  • Nanomaterials synthesis
  • Photoelectrochemical reactions
Sammy

Samantha Piper

samantha.piper@monash.edu
(+61 3) 9905 5503
13 Rainforest Walk, Building 86, Room 332

Research interests

  • Phase change materials
  • Thermal energy storage
  • Ionic liquids/organic salts

Visitors

  

Recent Graduates

Colin Kang

Dabin Wang

Changlong Xiao

Group Picture

Aug 2019

Find us at Clayton: Download the Clayton Campus Map
School of Chemistry: Building 86, 13 Rainforest Walk